A VPS Snapshot allows you to create a secure and efficient restore point, enabling you to easily undo any modifications made to your disk at a specific moment in time. However, it's important to note that a Snapshot is not a substitute for a backup, and both should be utilised in conjunction to ensure comprehensive data protection for your VPS.
The feature is only available for gp VPS packs. If your pack is of an older type, make sure to first upgrade to a gp VPS before being able to create a Snapshot.
Viewing your Snapshot
The Snapshot functionality can be accessed by clicking on the “Snapshot” tab.
Creating a Snapshot
A Snapshots creates a new state file, where changes to the disk are saved. This allows to revert these changes to the disk much quicker than retrieving a server backup. By creating a Snapshot also the in memory content is saved thus, the VPS must be in running state for the Snapshot to be created.
During the creation of the Snapshot the VPS processes are paused in order to prevent data corruption, this makes the VPS unresponsive.
Depending on the size of the in memory content it can take up to 45 minutes to copy all in memory content to the snapshot file. A general rule of thumb is around 1 minute of creation time needed per 1GB of in memory content to be stored safely to disk. To speed up the process, reduce the memory usage before creating a snapshot.
- Click the Create Snapshot button.
- A pop-up will show, where you will be asked to provide a name for the Snapshot.
- By clicking on the submit button, the pop-up will be closed, and the Create Snapshot button will be disabled, with a loading icon.
After the Snapshot is created, the page will be reload automatically, showing the created Snapshot.
While you have a Snapshot active, you won’t be able to upgrade the VPS, upgrade the disk and/ or reinstall the OS. On the Management tab those buttons will be disabled as long as there is a Snapshot active.
Deleting and restoring a Snapshot
To delete or restore a Snapshot, you can use the buttons under the “Actions” column.
While performing one of these actions, a loading icon will be shown, and after its conclusion, the page will automatically reload.