Server Management: Private Networking

Private networking allows your dedicated server to communicate with your other dedicated servers, as well as private cloud servers, over a separate, private network.

For more information about this feature, please refer to the Private Networking page.

This page will show an overview of your entire private network, in the data center that the server is in. The page will be the same for all your servers in that data center.


Contents

Enabled servers

Here you can see the servers that are currently part of your private network.

Note

  • The VLAN ID is informational only. Private networking uses the "Internal" interface of your server, using untagged Ethernet frames.
  • A DHCP server will assign a free IP address from the CIDR prefix to each of your servers. Through the DHCP setting at the top of the page, it is also possible to disable this behavior, and use static addressing instead.
  • By default, the /27 prefix length provides a maximum of 27 usable addresses. Please contact support if you require a larger Private Networking subnet

Actions

The following actions are possible for Private Networking-enabled servers

DHCP Setting

It is possible to disable the DHCP server on the private network. This will also disable all other layer-3 services and turn your private network into a pure layer-2 vlan.

To disable DHCP, click on the button, a new window will popup.

Change the option to disable and click the "Save" button. A success message will popup:

And the changes are applied immediately.

Note: If some of your servers are still using DHCP at this point, they will lose connectivity at this point.


Upgrade / downgrade Port Speed

To up- or downgrade the port speed of a server in your private network, click the or 

Link.

A success message will popup:

And the state will change to . If you refresh the page, in about 30 seconds the up or downgrade will have been processed.

Note

Changing the Private Networking Port Speed will result in a short interruption of service for that particular server, as the the link will go down when port cap on the switch is set or removed.

Remove

To remove a server from your private network, click on the link.

A success message will popup:

And the state will change to . If you refresh the page, in about 30 seconds the removal will have been processed and the server is now listed in the "Available servers" table.

Note

When you remove a server from your private network, the full amount will still be invoiced for the current month.

Available servers

Here you can see the servers that are currently not part of your private network, but can be added.

Actions

The following actions are possible for these servers

Add

To add a server to your private network, click on the link.

A success message will popup:

The server will immediately move to the "Enabled Servers" table and the state will change to . If you refresh the page, in about 30 seconds the configuration has completed.

Note

  • Please make sure DHCP is enabled on the Internal interface of your server. In Windows, this is enabled by default. With other Operating systems, you will have to adjust your server's network configuration manually to enable DHCP on the Internal interface.
  • It's possible to use 9k Jumbo Frames with Private Networking, please refer to Using Jumbo frames with Private Networking for more information.